According to Wikipedia, Steampunk is:  "a sub-genre of science fictionfantasyalternate history, and speculative fiction that came into prominence during the 1980s and early 1990s.[1] Steampunk involves a setting where steam power is still widely used—usually Victorian era Britain—that incorporates elements of either science fiction or fantasy. Works of steampunk often feature anachronistic technology or futuristic innovations as Victorians may have envisioned them, based on a Victorian perspective on fashionculturearchitectural styleart, etc. This technology may include such fictional machines as those found in the works of H. G. Wells and Jules Verne, or more recently Philip Pullman and China Mieville." (taken directly from Wikipidea).  The author has chosen to take this a step farther to  write her story to include historical facts, fun, be melodramatic, and to be filled with people who actually could exist. You won't want to miss this exciting tale of Dr. Letticia ‘Lettie’ Gantry, undertaking adventures as a volcanologist in 1882. (Find out more from the author at:
   http://volcanolady1.wordpress.com/2010/07/28/steampunk-why-i-write-it/)

The first person to share their impression of Steampunk either here on on the FaceBook Event page will receive a free eBook download code for The Volcano Lady: A Fearful Storm Brewing. (and remember, ALL commenters will be entered for a chance to win a Paperback Copy of the book)
Andrea
11/9/2011 11:54:16 pm

Steampunk is sci-fi with a new twist..steam power is used and futuristic technology
which sounds really interesting and fun to read about new future innovations

Reply
11/10/2011 12:03:29 am

Congratulations, Andrea!!! We had some great comments over on the FaceBook Release page as well. Your code is on the way.

Reply
11/10/2011 02:21:03 am

I've known Thena for ages, and been a writing buddy for the last year or two. I'm almost as delighted to see this book in front of the public at last as she is! I bought the Kindle book yesterday as son as she told me it was available. It's right at the top of my reading list!

Reply
Michelle Roethig
11/10/2011 03:29:41 am

I'm new to the Steampunk genre. I've read a few books and have really enjoyed them, but I really had no idea what it was called!! I'm looking forward to adding this to my book collection!!

Reply
Kris Hansell
11/10/2011 12:26:59 pm

I'll be jiggered. I was here and didn't realise where I was! I must be more aware than I think I am! Fun stuff this is!

Reply



Leave a Reply.